Sunday, March 14, 2010

Muddled race marks the beginning of the 2010 season Formula Indy

Today was a busy day at the Sao Paulo Indy 300. The organization faced plenty of problems, such as: dusty track during the qualifying races, storms, power outages, flooding the track and even a red flag (almost 30 minutes) before even half of the race. But despite all the uncertainties, the winner had his milk at the end of the race.

The qualifying race began at 8am and the pilots had to get used to the dust raised by the speed of the cars. It was because of the rebuilding made overnight to fix the stretches of the Sambadrome structure.

Shortly before the start, a little bit of rain fell for few minutes and it delayed the race. It wasn't a big problema and the racing teams decided not to change tires. But the rain caused a problem of visibility, and an accident affected some cars. "The track was very dusty," complained Andretti after suffering an accident caused by Mario Moraes. "You could not see the cars that were ahead," said.

The first yellow flag of the race lasted seven laps, time enjoyed by the teams to make adjustments in the pits. The second yellow flag was caused by the Venezuelan Milka Duno.

A new storm came up during the 30th lap and an electricity blackout happened at Anhembi. An yellow flag was used again. The track was flooded and the cars returned to the pits to wait for the water to drain. The race was paused for almost 30 minutes and when it returned, the Australian Will Power won the first street race held in Brazil, with Ryan Hunter-Reay in second place, followed by the Brazilian Vitor Meira.

The track was dry when the race ended, but for few minutes, some drivers crossed water puddles of 15cm high. After the red flag, there were doubts about the continuity of the racing.

On the podium, the organizers repeated the tradition belonging to the Indianapolis 500. Instead of champagne, Will Power drank milk during the celebration.

Check out the final result of the São Paulo Indy 300:

1. Will POWER (AUS/Team Penske)
2. Ryan HUNTER-REAY (EUA/Andretti Autosport)
3. Vitor MEIRA (BRA/A.J.Foyt)
4. Raphael MATOS (BRA/Luczo Dragon/ De Ferran)
5. Dan WHELDON (GBR/Panther Racing)
6. Scott DIXON (NZL/Ganasi)
7. Dario FRANCHITTI (ESC/Ganasi)
8. Mike CONWAY (GBR/Dreyer & Reinbold Racing )
9. Helio CASTRONEVES (BRA/Penske)
10. Tony KANAAN (BRA/Andretti)
11. Justin WILSON (GBR/Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
12. Ernesto J. VISO (VEN/KV Racing)
13. Bia FIGUEIREDO (BRA/Dryer & Reinbold Racing)
14. Ryan BRISCOE (AUS/Penske)
15. Danica PATRICK (EUA/Andretti Autosport)
16. Simona DE SILVESTRO (SUI/HVM Racing)
17. Mario ROMANCINI (BRA/Conquest)
18. Alex LLOYD (GBR/Dale-Coyne Racing)
19. Alex TAGLIANI (CAN/FAZZT Race Team)
20. Hideki MUTOH (JPN/Andretti)
21. Mika DUNO (VEN/Dale-Coyne Racing)
22. Takuma SATO (JPN/KV Racing)
23. Marco ANDRETTI (EUA/Andretti)
24. Mario MORAES (BRA/KV Racing)

No comments:

Post a Comment